Farmstrength’s Weblog


Sun’s Out… by docfarmstrong

Today was a sunny, beautiful day here in central Ohio. After work, I decided to stop at the field and throw the Heavy Events. (It really is a good idea to carry the throwing weights with you all the time.)

For me, there is some real catharsis that happens while I’m throwing. I am a follower of Jesus, and I believe that we should both grieve the things that are wrong, and celebrate the things that are right in each day. When I am throwing, I find that I can do this both/and more easily. Put it down to the Vitamin D if you want. Today saw more stress at work, a school shooting in a nearby town, and other brokeness in personal relationships. As I moved across the grass, and sent the stones, hammers and weights sailing through the air, I wept over each of the hurts I felt today. And, I smiled as I raised my face to the sun. I reveled in the grunts and the strain.

In the midst of pain and loss, it is good to be alive. It is good to know that one day the wrong will be mended. All that has been warped, broken and twisted by our rejection of Yahweh’s good rule will be restored. It is good to be strong. It is good to throw.

Braemar 9 throws

LWFD 9 throws

Light Hammer 9 throws

WOB 9 throws

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

In the midst of pain and loss, it is good to be alive. It is good to know that one day the wrong will be mended.

I can only hope that among those things which might be mended is my form in the Weight For Distance 🙂

Comment by Chris Rice




Leave a Reply

