Farmstrength’s Weblog


Doc’s February 2011 Training Review by docfarmstrong
March 12, 2011, 8:18 pm
Filed under: Doc, Uncategorized, Wolfhound Protocol

Work has been kicking my butt! In the month of February, we moved nearly 20 tons of scrap steel off of the job. This process consists of 1) removing old parts from elevator, 2) piling parts on pallets, 3) pushing pallets through the building to the loading dock and on to the flatbed truck, 4) unloading at the scrapyard. By the end of an eight hour day of this process, I am very tired.

Consequently, I have been focusing solely on the main lifts in my training. Doing the hang power clean to warm up, then working through the 5/3/1 progression on two lifts of my four focus lifts (Front Squat, Press, Deadlift, Bench Press), then calling it a day. I try to be very conscious of the workload at my job and how that impacts what I can do in the gym. I was able to hit goal reps or better for all weights again this month.

Conditioning…if it’s ok with you I’ll count all that pallet pushing as my conditioning for the month. I’ve been more consistent this month with stretching and mobility work.

In March, I begin transitioning into a more “in season” mode of training.  Also, it will be warm enough to do focused grip work.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

